DeRobert & the Half Truths

DeROBERT AND THE HALF TRUTHS: This band recently headlined the BMI stage the last Friday of Austin City Limits Music Festival this past October and has new product coming out soon on Colemine Records.

Smooth Funk and Soul – Out of Nashville TN – Recently played with: Black Joe Lewis and the Honey Bears, St. Paul and the Broken Bones, Funky Meters, Ruby Velle and the Soul Phonics, Charles Bradley, Vintage Trouble, and Jamie Lidell.

Can add horn section if budget allows.

I live here in Nashville and they are the hottest funk and soul band in Nashville right now. They are playing Switzerland, France, and Spain this summer and we add horns where the budget allows. If you are looking for something fresh and new that is in the vein of Lee Fields and Charles Bradley without the big price, these guys fit the bill.

In a city known worldwide as the home of country music, DeRobert and the Half-Truths have carved out a place for themselves as the flag-bearers of Nashville Soul. DeRobert Adams, the voice in front of the Half-Truths, got his start 200 miles west of Nashville in the small Memphis exurb of Covington, Tennessee singing in the church choir. It was here that DeRobert honed his talents as a powerfully soulful vocalist, training himself to perform dizzying vocal acrobatics and arias. In 2000, at the age of 19 against his family’s wishes, he packed a suitcase and stole away in the middle of the night to Murfreesboro, Tennessee, a small college town just southeast of Nashville where he enrolled in Middle Tennessee State University. It was here that he met Nick DeVan and David Singleton who later founded G.E.D. Soul Records and soon thereafter DeRobert & The Half-Truths.

In the summer of 2007, DeRobert, DeVan, and Singleton began working on a 7” record under the name The Grips. DeRobert added his vocals to the A side, “Tennessee Strut.” It was released with little fanfare, but soon word began to spread about a little yellow 45 from an unheard of group from Tennessee. The record had a rough, old-school growl to its raw production and one thing that stood out undeniably was DeRobert’s powerful vocals. A follow-up was immediately released featuring DeRobert on both sides.
The first DeRobert and the Half-Truths 7” record, “Fallin’ In Debt” came out in 2008 followed quickly by two more, “Wake On Up” and the “Too Busy” EP. The gritty records drew attention from soul DJ’s and aficionados the world over. In 2010, DeRobert and the Half-Truths released their first full-length album “Soul In a Digital World” to favorable reviews. The LP allowed the band (now augmented with several talented local musicians) to stretch out with their purchase ambien online no prescription brand of raw, syncopated soul. Staying true to their love of making music for the vinyl record, G.E.D. Soul Records released the 7inch “Beg Me” EP in 2011 garnering a whole new level of fandom for the band and their little Nashville label.

One of the key features making this music so special is what has been described as “an audible sweat” embedded in the recordings. Recorded solely in Nick DeVan’s Poor Man Studio, the musicians huddle together in a small, heavily-insulated living room and grind out hard-boiled track after track. All of the musicians are working class folks eking out a living with side-jobs and stints on the road. The recurring themes of poverty, heartbreak and the perpetual struggle to monetarily stay afloat are reflected in the songs.
The sophomore LP “I’m Tryin'” (released Jan 14, 2014) was a testament to a kind of working man’s soul music. Balancing the rhythmic elements of the old days with splashes of DeRobert’s modern vocals punctuating the melody like a possessed pugilist, the new album added another layer of sweet soulfulness to their growing repertoire.

2015 saw DeRobert step out to record a solo record on G.E.D. Soul imprint City Bump Records. Featuring a more modern production method in the studio, DeRobert crafted a proper R&B record with the same amount of “bump” he achieves with his Half-Truths live band.
During this time, DeRobert also when through a profound physical change as well, dropping around 150 lbs and now sporting a svelte frame, DeRobert Adams is showing no signs of slowing down. Through healthy eating and regimented exercise, DeRobert’s mind, body and soul are all locked in and on point as he prepares to step back into the studio to create another round of heavy raw soul tracks with his band. In addition to a grip of new recordings due out in 2017, he plans to hit the road in earnest to spread his powerfully soulful story.

Be on the lookout for more DeRobert and the Half-Truths and don’t miss your chance to see the Music City Soul Phenom in action!

In addition to full publicity support, as well as street teams and a strong social media team, the new album is set to drop in the spring of 2017 and I have no doubt that they will leave you and the fans with a positive and memorable show.

1.The Feel –
2. Get on It –
3. The Joy –
4. Yes I Want It
5. Goin Places –
6. Do It Alone
7. The Dole –
8. Ooo Wee –
9. I Got Burned –
10. The Speech –
11. Call Me –
12. I don’t Get Mad No Mo –
13. Fallin In Debt –
14. Too Short –
15. My Momma Told Me –
16. Cop Cars and Taxis –
17. Got Soul In A Digital World –
18. Stay on Point –